Interview mit Sebastian Ramstedt von Necrophobic

Deutsche Version lesen

In February NECROPHOBIC released their strong eighth album „Mark of the Necrogram“ after five years of work. During this time a lot happened in the band. Especially changes of members had an impact since the band’s predecessor „Womb Of Lilithu“. The most prominent of them: Tobias Sidegård, who had to leave the band due to the conviction for domestic violence and was replaced by Anders Strokirk. Strokirk had already been the vocalist of NECROPHOBIC between 1992 and 1994 and can be heard on their debut „The Nocturnal Silence“. We talked with guitarist Sebastian Ramstedt about the line-up changes and of course their latest album.

You have been playing at the recent 70000 Tons Of Metal. Could you actually perform a decent black metal gig there, when everyone around was in a „holiday“ mood?
Yeah! It was a crazy fucking trip. I don’t know about holiday mood. I think it was more of a festival feeling about the whole event. Black Metal gigs are kind of a paradox anyway. I mean the music is not made for entertainment purposes. But live gigs more or less are. People mostly go to gigs to get drunk, headbang and get laid. The little percentage going there rather for the ritual reasons would not fill a concert hall or even a club. So, as a performer you will have to decide if you’re up for the job or not. Well, Darkthrone are not, while Dimmu Borgir sure are. I guess we are somewhere in between.

After 20 years your original singer Anders Strokirk has returned to the band. Was this the natural decision after Tobias left the band? Or did you consider other vocalists as well?
Of course you look back to original members when something like this happens. I prefer to have someone in the band who has a history with it. And switching singers is a big deal. Tobias’ voice was important to NECROPHOBIC. But during all these years I’ve been in the band, people have always mentioned “Nocturnal Silence” as one of the greatest albums (or the greatest) that we have done and not one person has given us negative criticism about Anders’ vocal duties there. So, it was a very natural decision to ask him first before searching for a new guy.

What has changed with Anders returning to the band?
As always when adding or subtracting members to a group, the chemistry and dynamics change. Anders is a very easy person to work with. He looks for the best for the band and does not only fight to get his own ideas through. He is a great performer and I think the quality of his appearance and voice live is very consistently at a high level. In the past, the band could be great or not so great, depending on the shape of the members in the band. I was not always happy about our shows in the past. But now I am. With Anders up front we focus on bringing this battle ship forward with full force.

What was he doing in the meantime, especially in terms of musical activity?
He was very active in the music business. He had his main band Blackshine who had some success. Even going on tour as the opener for Bruce Dickinson back in the days. Then he made some records with Mykkoriza.

You and Johan have also left and later rejoined the band – how did that come?
We left in 2011 I think while working on the follow-up to “Death to All”. The tensions in the band were strong and we did not communicate well. I really think we all needed a break, actually. Anyway, me and Johan addressed we should take a year or so off to let things cool down. The other members chose to move forward with new guitarists. It really was not the same band. In the fall of 2016 Joakim decided that something had to be done to bring back the true spirit of NECROPHOBIC. At the same time, me and Johan had been talking about the old days and that it would be cool to get back to the band. When Joakim gave us a call it was an easy “YES!”.

How about Joakim? Is he sometimes thinking about secluding himself in the next few years?
Joakim has been the only member who has lasted through the whole NECROPHOBIC career. I don’t think he will ever stop. He is the kind of person that sets goals and never lets down the guard or gets out of focus. I fucking admire him for that. There have been many times in this band when I have almost given up but Joakim has never once uttered the words of “I quit”. It is his vision that makes this band what it is. I know he enjoys his duties as much today as he did back in 1989. He should get a gold watch or something for that, haha!

How do you actually progress as a musician? What can still give you inspiration to move forward these days? What are you still looking forward to?
I thrive on learning how to master the guitar. I get up every morning at 04.30 (this is true) to practice or write. Then I have a couple of hours in solitude before the world awakes. It’s like a no end game. I have to level all the time. I don’t play guitar for the purpose of performing or getting my music out to the masses. This is a bi-effect. I need to create to live. It’s in my blood. I get inspired from all kinds of music. Right now, I’m working on mastering some Van Halen stuff. Even if it’s not my favorite kind of music, it helps me developing my skills to play Necrophobic songs better. There is no goal. I hope that one day I will be satisfied with what I can do on the guitar, but right now I’m nowhere near.

You have recently released your new album „Mark Of The Necrogram“. How do you see your new album in comparison to the past ones?
To me this is the best album we have done. There are no parts on it that I would have done differently. I think it perfectly represents what NECROPHOBIC is and should sound like. Past albums have had a lot of great ideas and songs, but I feel in the end the last pieces have been rushed or put together in exhaust. There is more power to this album. And it never loses it. We are actually much stronger and more determined now compared to when we were younger. It’s like you learn how to get the bullshit out and focus on what’s important.

How long did you work on the material of the new album?
I wrote three of the songs back in 2010, just after “Death to All”. Those were put to rest as I left the band. Then all of the other songs where written in a couple of months during summer and fall of 2017. It was intense work. As I told you, getting up every morning to write. So, compared to the previous albums we have put much more hours in to this album but in a shorter time frame.

The album cover is done by Kristian Wåhlin (Necrolord) again, who seems to be the rock star among the cover painters. What made you choose him?
This was an idea that I had just after „Darkside“ was released. I always loved that cover. Just like Iron Maiden in the 80s had covers that led Eddie from one environment to another, I wanted to see what was beyond the blue church isle. There is a red area in the middle of that cover art and we asked Kristian to paint that in detail. This Idea was perfect for this album as it is also a reunion of past members and past days. He was totally up for it and the result is just stunning.

Your lyrics have always been inspired by Satanism. How do you counter people who say those lyrics are hackneyed?
Don’t care. We don’t do anything new. We do old school stuff. The lyrics should reflect your darkest inner self and also fit the music. If people have a problem with that then they are buying the wrong records. I’m sure there are other bands out there doing something they would rather pay for (or take their precious time to download).

Whose idea was it to re-record your first demo “Slow Asphyxiation” and to put it on the “Pesta” EP?
This was an old idea of mine as well. I think it is a brilliant song. It’s a shame that it is only on the first demo. I wanted to bring it back into the light. The “Pesta” EP was a perfect release to put together the oldest and the newest material we had.

I’d like to end the interview with our traditional Metal1.info brainstorming! What comes to your mind first when you hear these following words?
Mainstream:
Boring.
Coffee: Essence of life.
Party.San Festival: Jarne and the best festival in the world.
Loud Music: If it’s too loud, then you’re too old.
Dissection: Gods!

Geschrieben am

Fotos von:

Antworten

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

Interview mit Sebastian Ramstedt von Necrophobic

Read the English version

Im Februar veröffentlichten NECROPHOBIC mit „Mark of the Necrogram“ nach fünf Jahren Arbeit ein starkes achtes Album. In dieser Zeit ist in der Band viel geschehen. Vor allem Besetzungswechsel prägten die Zeit seit dem Vorgänger „Womb Of Lilithu“. Der prominenteste darunter: Tobias Sidegård, der aufgrund seiner Verurteilung wegen häuslicher Gewalt die Band verlassen musste und durch Anders Strokirk ersetzt wurde. Strokirk war bereits zwischen 1992 und 1994 Sänger der Band und ist auf deren Debüt „The Nocturnal Silence“ zu hören. Wir sprachen mit Gitarrist Sebastian Ramstedt über die Besetzungswechsel und natürlich ihr aktuelles Album.

Ihr habt beim letzten 70000 Tons Of Metal gespielt. Konntet ihr dort tatsächlich einen anständigen Black Metal Gig spielen, während alle um euch herum in „Urlaubsstimmung“ waren?
Ja! Es war eine verrückte Reise. Ich weiß nichts über Urlaubsstimmung. Ich denke, es war eher ein Festival-Feeling während der ganzen Veranstaltung. Black Metal Auftritte sind sowieso paradox. Ich meine, die Musik ist nicht für Unterhaltungszwecke gemacht. Aber Live-Auftritte sind es mehr oder weniger. Die Leute gehen meistens zu Auftritten, um sich zu betrinken, zu headbangen und flachgelegt zu werden. Der kleine Prozentsatz, der eher aus rituellen Gründen dorthin geht, würde keinen Konzertsaal oder gar einen Club füllen. Als Künstler muss man sich also entscheiden, ob man für den Job bereit ist oder nicht. Nun, Darkthrone sind es nicht, während Dimmu Borgir es sicher sind. Ich schätze, wir sind irgendwo dazwischen.

Nach 20 Jahren ist euer ursprünglicher Sänger Anders Strokirk wieder zur Band zurückgekehrt. War das die naheliegende Entscheidung, nachdem Tobias die Band verlassen hatte? Oder habt ihr auch an andere Sänger gedacht?
Natürlich blickt man auf die ursprünglichen Mitglieder zurück, wenn so etwas passiert. Ich ziehe es vor, jemanden in der Band zu haben, der eine Vorgeschichte mit ihr hat. Und Sängerwechsel sind eine große Sache. Tobias‘ Stimme war wichtig für NECROPHOBIC. Aber in all den Jahren, in denen ich in der Band war, haben die Leute „Nocturnal Silence“ immer als eines der großartigsten Alben (oder das großartigste) erwähnt, die wir gemacht haben, und nicht eine Person hat uns negative Kritik an Anders‘ Gesangsarbeit dort gegeben. Es war also eine sehr naheliegende Entscheidung, ihn zuerst zu fragen, bevor man nach einem neuen Mann sucht.

Was hat sich geändert, seit Anders zur Band zurückgekehrt ist?
Wie immer, wenn man Mitglieder zu einer Gruppe addiert oder subtrahiert, ändern sich die Chemie und die Dynamik. Anders ist eine sehr unkomplizierte Person mit der man arbeiten kann. Er bemüht sich um das Beste für die Band und kämpft nicht nur für die Umsetzung seiner eigenen Ideen. Er ist ein großartiger Performer und ich denke, die Qualität seines Auftretens und seiner Stimme ist sehr konstant auf einem hohen Niveau. In der Vergangenheit konnte die Band stark oder weniger stark sein, abhängig von der Verfassung der Mitglieder in der Band. Ich war nicht immer glücklich über unsere Shows in der Vergangenheit. Aber jetzt bin ich es. Mit Anders an der Spitze konzentrieren wir uns darauf, dieses Schlachtschiff mit voller Kraft voranzubringen.

Was hat er in der Zwischenzeit gemacht, vor allem im Hinblick auf die musikalische Tätigkeit?
Er war sehr aktiv im Musikgeschäft. Er hatte seine Hauptband Blackshine, die etwas Erfolg hatte. Sogar als Opener für Bruce Dickinson gingen sie damals auf Tour. Dann machte er einige Platten mit Mykkoriza.

Du und Johan seid auch gegangen und später wieder in die Band eingetreten – wie kam es dazu?
Wir sind 2011 gegangen, denke ich, als wir am Nachfolger von „Death to All“ gearbeitet haben. Die Spannungen in der Band waren stark und wir kommunizierten nicht gut. Ich glaube wirklich, dass wir alle eine Pause brauchten. Wie auch immer, Johan und ich haben gesagt, wir sollten uns ein Jahr frei nehmen, um die Dinge abkühlen zu lassen. Die anderen Mitglieder entschieden sich, mit neuen Gitarristen weiterzumachen. Es war wirklich nicht die gleiche Band. Im Herbst 2016 entschied Joakim, dass etwas getan werden muss, um den wahren Geist von NECROPHOBIC zurückzubringen. Zur gleichen Zeit hatten ich und Johan über die alten Tage gesprochen und dass es cool wäre, wieder zur Band zurückzukehren. Als Joakim uns anrief, war es ein klares „JA!

Was ist mit Joakim? Denkt er manchmal darüber nach, sich in den nächsten Jahren zurückzuziehen?
Joakim war das einzige Mitglied, das die ganze NECROPHOBIC-Karriere überdauert hat. Ich glaube nicht, dass er jemals aufhören wird. Er ist die Art von Person, die Ziele setzt und nie den Posten verlässt oder den Fokus verliert. Ich bewundere ihn dafür. Es gab viele Male in dieser Band, bei denen ich fast aufgegeben hätte, aber Joakim hat nie die Worte “ Ich höre auf “ geäußert. Es ist seine Vision, die diese Band zu dem macht, was sie ist. Ich weiß, dass er seine Aufgaben heute genauso genießt wie schon 1989. Er sollte eine goldene Uhr oder so etwas dafür bekommen, haha!

Wie kommst du eigentlich als Musiker voran? Was kann dich heutzutage noch inspirieren, voranzukommen? Worauf freust du dich noch?
Ich liebe es zu lernen, wie man die Gitarre meistert. Ich stehe jeden Morgen um 04.30 Uhr auf (das ist wahr), um zu üben oder zu schreiben. Dann habe ich ein paar Stunden in der Abgeschiedenheit, bevor die Welt erwacht. Es ist wie ein Spiel ohne Ende. Ich muss die ganze Zeit leveln. Ich spiele nicht Gitarre, um meine Musik zu spielen oder an die Massen zu bringen. Das ist ein Bi-Effekt. Ich muss erschaffen, um zu leben. Es liegt mir im Blut. Ich lasse mich von allerlei Musik inspirieren. Im Moment arbeite ich daran, ein paar Van-Halen-Sachen zu meistern. Auch wenn es nicht meine Lieblingsmusik ist, hilft es mir, meine Fähigkeiten zu verbessern, um Necrophobic-Songs besser zu spielen. Es gibt kein Ziel. Ich hoffe, dass ich eines Tages mit dem, was ich auf der Gitarre kann, zufrieden sein werde, aber im Moment bin ich nicht annähernd so weit.

Ihr habt kürzlich euer neues Album „Mark Of The Necrogram“ veröffentlicht. Wie siehst du euer neues Album im Vergleich zu den vergangenen?
Für mich ist es das beste Album, das wir je gemacht haben. Es gibt keine Stellen, die ich anders gemacht hätte. Ich denke, es repräsentiert perfekt, was NECROPHOBIC ist und wie es klingen sollte. Vergangene Alben hatten viele tolle Ideen und Songs, aber ich habe das Gefühl, dass die letzten Teile letztlich überstürzt oder erschöpft zusammengefügt wurden. Dieses Album hat mehr Power. Und es verliert sie nie. Wir sind jetzt viel stärker und entschlossener als damals, als wir noch jünger waren. Es ist, als würde man lernen, wie man den Mist loswird und sich auf das Wesentliche konzentriert.

Wie lange habt ihr am Material des neuen Albums gearbeitet?
Ich habe 2010 drei der Songs geschrieben, direkt nach „Death to All“. Diese wurden beiseite gelegt, als ich die Band verließ. Dann wurden alle anderen Songs in ein paar Monaten im Sommer und Herbst 2017 geschrieben. Es war intensive Arbeit. Wie ich schon sagte, jeden Morgen aufstehen, um zu schreiben. Im Vergleich zu den vorherigen Alben haben wir also viel mehr Stunden in dieses Album investiert, aber in einem kürzeren Zeitraum.

Das Albumcover stammt wieder von Kristian Wåhlin (Necrolord), der der Rockstar unter den Covermalern zu sein scheint. Warum habt ihr euch für ihn entschieden?
Das war eine Idee, die ich kurz nach der Veröffentlichung von „Darkside“ hatte. Ich habe das Cover immer geliebt. So wie Iron Maiden in den 80ern Cover hatte, die Eddie von einer Umgebung zur anderen führten, wollte ich sehen, was jenseits der blauen Kircheninsel lag. Es gibt einen roten Bereich in der Mitte des Covers und wir haben Kristian gebeten, diesen im Detail zu malen. Diese Idee war perfekt für das Album, denn es ist auch eine Wiedervereinigung vergangener Mitglieder und vergangener Tage. Er war total begeistert und das Ergebnis ist einfach umwerfend.

Eure Texte wurden immer vom Satanismus inspiriert. Wie begegnet ihr Leuten, die sagen, dass diese Texte abgedroschen sind?
Ist mir egal. Wir machen nichts Neues. Wir machen Old-School-Kram. Der Text sollte das dunkelste Innere widerspiegeln und auch zur Musik passen. Wenn die Leute damit ein Problem haben, dann kaufen sie die falschen Platten. Ich bin sicher, dass es andere Bands gibt, die etwas machen, wofür sie lieber bezahlen würden (oder sich ihre kostbare Zeit zum Herunterladen nehmen).

Wessen Idee war es, eure erste Demo „Slow Asphyxiation“ neu aufzunehmen und auf die „Pesta“ EP zu bringen?
Das war auch eine alte Idee von mir. Ich denke, es ist ein brillanter Song. Es ist eine Schande, dass er nur auf dem ersten Demo ist. Ich wollte ihn zurück ins Licht bringen. Die „Pesta“ EP war eine perfekte Veröffentlichung, um das älteste und das neueste Material, das wir hatten, zusammenzustellen.

Ich möchte das Interview mit unserem traditionellen Metal1.info Brainstorming beenden! Was fällt dir zuerst ein, wenn du die folgenden Worte hörst?
Mainstream: Langweilig.
Kaffee: Essenz des Lebens.
Party.San Festival: Jarne und das beste Festival der Welt.
Laute Musik: Wenn sie zu laut ist, bist du zu alt.
Dissection: Götter!

Geschrieben am

Fotos von:

Antworten

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: