Interview mit Sylvaine von Sylvaine

Deutsche Version lesen

With their third album SYLVAINE takes another big step forward. SYLVAINE explains in an interview what „Atoms Aligned, Coming Undone“ is all about, how the artwork is connected to the music and why there are two mufflers on the album with their father Stephen and Neige (Alcest).

Your promotional pictures are very diverse, starting with the modern one with the purple color on your hand, ending with the „angel-style“ one with the white costume. Which one you like most, which one fits best to the album?
I think all the different promotional pictures related to this album fit the music in their own, unique way. I wanted to make sure to showcase both this lighter and darker side within the music in a visual manner, and with the assistant of my two lovely, talented friends Andy Julia and Daria Endresen, we managed to capture all the nuances the music had to offer.

The album is entitled „Atoms Aligned, Coming Undone“ – what was the idea behind this title and is there some underlying concept?
„Atoms aligned, Coming Undone” represents the feeling of decline when something unravels before your eyes. Little by little, something is worn down or broken, until it finally disintegrates completely. I often speak about my relationship with the human form in my music and on this album, I got inspired by the outside world for once. I believe the human form tends to temporarily sever us from our origins, at the same time that our society tends to corrupt the innocence we naturally hold, as time goes by. “Atoms Aligned, Coming Undone” not only refers to my personal relationship with life, but also how the human world is destroying everything; nature and man alike.

The album has a great, very detailed artwork – who is responsible for this, and what was the inspiration for the picture? Is there a connection to the lyrics or album title?
I got in touch with my brilliant, illustrator friends in Førtifem in Paris and they worked their magic to come up with what you see on the cover today. I knew I wanted to have something that was more graphic than my previous cover, made by the great Sylfvr. The cover needed to be striking, yet it had to keep the atmospheric touch that the music clearly gives. The idea of a crystal cluster being the perfect embodiment of something that is breathtakingly beautiful and deep, yet still harsh and dangerous was very intriguing to me. I have a distinct memory of having been shown some beautiful paintings by Caspar David Friedrich, featuring aggressive icebergs that almost looked to take on the shape of crystals, which became the starting point of the artwork «Atoms Aligned, Coming Undone» ended up having. I’m so happy with Førtifem’s work on this album –  It truly represents the music in a perfect way.

Last visual-related question: You’ve got also a new SYLVAINE-logo with this album – is it only because it fits better to the gems on the artwork, or will that be your future logo?
Førtifem kindly came up with this new logo, to go with the feeling of this release, but I have a feeling it will be sticking around past the release of “Atoms Aligned, Coming Undone”. It feels right to me.

Musicwise, I think „Atoms Aligned, Coming Undone“ is a mixture of your two prior releases – it’s not that heavy and dark as „Wistful“, but also not that tuneful as SCNH. What do you think about that?
As I see it, “Atoms Aligned, Coming Undone” has a more focused expression than the previous two albums. At the same time, it holds a stronger variety and pushes the dualities even further, creating a greater balance between the opposing forces. Where “Wistful” was an incredibly somber and downright sad record, I feel like “Atoms Aligned, Coming Undone” carries a bigger darkness to it. In those moments where there’s no hope, you really can’t find a glimmer of light left within the music, yet, there’s still an uplifting vibe to some of the other melodies. I think this record is a natural progression from “Wistful”, showcasing a slightly more mature version of my music, if I can use that word. I think the production choices and sound work has drawn a line between the two first releases too, as I went for a more organic touch on this new album.

Neige was involved this time as well, as a session-drummer, together with Stephen Shepard. Why two different drummers?
It has always been very important to me to share my passion with the people that mean the most to me in my life. To work on something so dear to yourself, together with the people you love, is just a gift, something that will always be there as a testimony of your bond. I wanted to share this with my father, Stephen Shepard. I didn’t do that much recording in Norwayfor “Atoms Aligned, Coming Undone”, making his participance a bit limited this time around (on “Wistful”, it was 50/50 Neige and my father), but I still wanted to include him on the record. He’s an excellent drummer and was also kind enough to embark on this journey with me for me first album, so it’s been important to me to keep this tradition alive. Both my father and Neige have something super valuable to my music, in different ways.

The album mastered by Jack Shirley (Deafheaven, Oathbreaker) at Atomic Garden in San Francisco (US). Why was he the perfect choice for this job?
Working with a different team for this album became a natural choice, since the music lend itself to something a bit more organic and different than the two previous ones. I already knew of Jack and his work on several records that I admired thru the years, so I figured I’d get in touch, to see if he’d be on board to work on my album. As he was enthusiastic about the idea, Benoît Roux, the recording and mixing engineer and I agreed it was the perfect person to master this new album of mine.

You played some shows and tours already – but no german tour so far. Will there also be a tour (with German dates) in support of your new album?
We didn’t have the pleasure of doing a German tour so far, no. Only single shows and festivals last year, which we all really enjoyed. Germany is a special market, that I think most band really appreciate. We would be more than happy to come back during our European travels next year! We are working on making a European tour happen during spring next year, so this will surely be the right occasion to return for a handful of shows.

Thank you for the interview! Please let us do a short brainstorming now:
Kodama: The train that is most affordable to take between Tokyo and Osaka in Japan. (laughs) It’s  also one of the best albums of 2016 – an Alcest masterpiece!
Brett Kavanaugh: Oh god, don’t get me started on this whole mess we know as current day USA … Let’s go with one word; disaster
Behemoth: My friend Metastazis, who made an emblematic logo for them.
Your favorite album at the moment: Four- way tie between the new Emma Ruth Rundle, “On Dark Horses”, Vampillia’s “The Divine Move”, Type O Negative’s “October Rust” (it’s that time of year again) and Hammock, „Departure Songs“.
Banksy: Don’t really know what to make of Banksy. He does some cool stuff though, and his exploding artwork was quite something.
SYLVAINE in 10 years: World domination? Just kidding (laughs) I don’t know what the future brings, but I do know that music will still be made. Hopefully I’ll be allowed to focus on my project full time for some time longer, but we’ll see. Crossing my fingers that the journey will be exciting no matter what!

Once again thanks for your time. The last words are yours – is there anything left you want to tell our readers?
Thank you ever so much for giving me this opportunity to speak to the readers of Metal1.info – I truly hope you enjoyed my little rant here. Also hope to be back in Germany very soon, hopefully for our European tour plans next year. See you then!

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Dieses Interview wurde per E-Mail geführt.
Zur besseren Lesbarkeit wurden Smilies ersetzt.

Geschrieben am

Antworten

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

Interview mit Sylvaine von Sylvaine

Read the English version

Mit ihrem dritten Album hat sich SYLVAINE wieder einen großen Schritt weiterentwickelt. Worum es auf “Atoms Aligned, Coming Undone” geht, wie das Artwork in Verbindung mit der Musik steht und warum auf dem Album mit ihrem Vater Stephen und Neige (Alcest) gleich zwei Schlagzeuger vertreten sind, erklärt SYLVAINE im Interview.

Die Promofotos zum neuen SYLVAINE-Album sind sehr unterschiedlich, angefangen bei den modernen mit der lila Farbe auf der Hand bis hin zu den “Engelsbildern” mit dem weißen Kostüm. Welches gefällt dir am besten, welches passt am besten zum Album?
Ich denke, dass die verschiedenen Fotos, die mit diesem Album zusammenhängen, alle auf ihre ganz eigene Art zur Musik passen. Ich wollte sicherstellen, dass sowohl die hellere als auch die dunklere Seite der Musik visuell dargestellt wird, und mit der Hilfe meiner beiden liebenswerten, talentierten Freunde Andy Julia und Daria Endresen ist es gelungen, alle diese Nuancen der Musik einzufangen.

Das Album trägt den Titel “Atoms Aligned, Coming Undone” – was war die Idee hinter diesem Titel und gibt es ein Konzept?
„Atoms Aligned, Coming Undone“ repräsentiert das Gefühl des Verfalls, wenn sich etwas vor deinen Augen auflöst. Nach und nach wird etwas abgenutzt oder geht kaputt, bis es sich schließlich vollständig auflöst. Ich spreche in meiner Musik oft über meine Beziehung zum menschlichen Wesen – bei diesem Album habe ich mich einmal von der Außenwelt inspirieren lassen. Ich glaube, dass das Wesen des Menschen dazu neigt, uns vorübergehend von unseren Ursprüngen zu trennen, während unsere Gesellschaft gleichzeitig dazu neigt, unsere natürliche Unschuld im Laufe der Zeit zu zerstören. „Atoms Aligned, Coming Undone“ bezieht sich nicht nur auf meine persönliche Beziehung zum Leben, sondern auch darauf, wie die menschliche Gesellschaft alles zerstört; Natur und Mensch gleichermaßen.

Das Album hat ein großartiges, sehr detailliertes Artwork – wer ist dafür verantwortlich, und was war die Inspiration für das Bild? Gibt es einen Zusammenhang mit dem Text oder dem Albumtitel?
Ich habe mich mit meinen brillanten Illustratorenfreunden von Førtifem in Paris in Verbindung gesetzt und sie haben ihre Magie eingesetzt, um das auszuarbeiten, was du heute auf dem Cover siehst. Ich wusste, dass ich etwas haben wollte, das grafischer war als mein vorheriges Cover, das vom großartigen Sylfvr erschaffen worden war. Das Cover sollte diesmal auffällig sein, aber dennoch den atmosphärischen Touch der unverkennbar aus der Musik herausklingt, behalten. Die Idee, dass ein Kristallcluster die perfekte Verkörperung von etwas atemberaubend Schönem und Tiefgründigem aber zugleich hart und gefährlich ist, fand ich extrem faszinierend. Ich erinnere mich deutlich daran, wie sie mir einige schöne Gemälde von Caspar David Friedrich gezeigt haben, mit aggressiven Eisbergen, die fast wie Kristalle aussahen. Das war der Ausgangspunkt für das Artwork von „Atoms Aligned, Coming Undone“. Ich bin so glücklich mit Førtifems Arbeit für dieses Album – das Bild repräsentiert die Musik wirklich perfekt. 

Du hast mit diesem Album auch ein neues Bandlogo – weil es besser zu den Kristallen auf dem Cover passt oder wird das dein zukünftiges Logo sein?
Førtifem hat sich netterweise auch dieses neue Logo ausgedacht, um dem Gefühl dieser Veröffentlichung gerecht zu warden. Aber ich habe das Gefühl, dass es nach der Veröffentlichung von „Atoms Aligned, Coming Undone“ hängen bleiben wird. Es fühlt sich für mich richtig an. 

Musikalisch sehe ich „Atoms Aligned, Coming Undone“ als eine Mischung aus den beiden Vorgängeralben – es ist nicht so schwer und dunkel wie „Wistful“, aber auch nicht so melodisch wie “Silent Chamber, Noisy Heart”. Was denkst du?
Aus meiner Sicht bringt „Atoms Aligned, Coming Undone“ das, was es ausdrücken soll, klarer auf den Punkt als die beiden vorherigen Alben. Gleichzeitig ist es vielfältiger und treibt diese Ambivalenz noch weiter und erschafft ein noch stärkeres Gleichgewicht zwischen den beiden gegensätzlichen Aspekten der Musik: Während „Wistful“ eine unglaublich düstere und geradezu traurige Platte war, habe ich das Gefühl, dass „Atoms Aligned, Coming Undone“ eine größere Dunkelheit mit sich herumträgt. In diesen hoffnungslosen Momenten ist in der Musik kein Funke Licht mehr zu finden – aber es findet sich in einigen der anderen Melodien noch immer diese erhebende Stimmung. Ich denke, diese Platte ist eine natürliche Weiterentwicklung von „Wistful“ und zeigt eine etwas reifere Version meiner Musik, wenn ich dieses Wort verwenden kann. Auch  die Produktionsentscheidungen und der Sound haben eine Grenze zu den ersten beiden Alben gezogen, weil ich mich diesmal für einen viel organischeren entschieden habe.

Neige von Alcest war, zusammen mit Stephen Shepard, auch diesmal Session-Drummer. Warum zwei verschiedene Schlagzeuger?
Es war mir schon immer sehr wichtig, meine Leidenschaft mit den Menschen zu teilen, die mir in meinem Leben am meisten bedeuten. An etwas zu arbeiten, das dir so lieb ist, zusammen mit den Menschen, die du liebst, ist ein Geschenk, etwas, das immer da sein wird, als Zeugnis deiner Verbindung. Ich wollte das mit meinem Vater, Stephen Shepard, teilen. Ich habe nicht so viele Aufnahmen in Norwegen für „Atoms Aligned, Coming Undone“ gemacht, so dass sein Beirtag diesmal etwas eingeschränkt war (bei „Wistful“ waren es 50/50 Neige und mein Vater), aber ich wollte ihn trotzdem auf der Platte haben. Er ist ein ausgezeichneter Schlagzeuger und war auch so freundlich, diese Reise mit mir mit meinem ersten Album zu beginnen, deshalb war es mir wichtig, diese Tradition am Leben zu halten. Sowohl mein Vater als auch Neige sind etwas sehr Wertvolles für meine Musik, auf verschiedene Weise.

Das Album wurde von Jack Shirley (Deafheaven, Oathbreaker) im Atomic Garden Studio in San Francisco gemastert. Warum war er die perfekte Wahl für diesen Job?
Für dieses Album mit einem anderen Team zusammenzuarbeiten war für mich eine Selbstverständlichkeit, da sich die Musik für einen organischeren, anderen Sound anbietet als die beiden vorherigen Alben. Ich hatte bereits von Jack und seiner Arbeit an mehreren Platten gehört, die ich im Laufe der Jahre verehrt habe, also habe ich beschlossen, mich mit ihm in Verbindung zu setzen, um zu sehen, ob er an Bord sein würde, um an meinem Album zu arbeiten. Da er von der Idee begeistert war, stimmten Benoît Roux, der Aufnahme- und Mischtechniker und ich überein, dass er die perfekte Person ist, um mein neues Album zu mastern.

Du hast schon einige Shows und Tourneen gespielt – aber noch keine Deutschlandtour. Wird das mit diesem Album endlich nachgeholt?
Wir hatten bisher nicht das Vergnügen, eine Deutschlandtournee zu spielen, nein. Deutschland ist ein besonderer Markt, den die meisten Bands wirklich zu schätzen wissen. Wir würden uns sehr freuen, wenn wir im nächsten Jahr auf unserer Tour wieder dort hin kommen würden! Wir arbeiten daran, dass im Frühjahr nächsten Jahres eine Europatournee stattfindet. Das ware sicher eine gute Gelegenheit, für ein paar Shows nach Deutschland zurückzukehren.

Vielen Dank für das Gespräch! Zum Abschluss ein Brainstorming:
“Kodama”:
In Japan der günstigste Zug zwischen Tokio und Osaka. (lacht) Und eines der besten Alben des Jahres 2016 – ein Alcest-Meisterwerk!
Brett Kavanaugh:
Oh Gott, lass mich nicht mit diesem ganzen Schlamassel anfangen, das wir heute als die USA kennen … Lass es mich in einem Wort sagen: Katastrophe.
Behemoth:
Mein Freund Metastazis, der für sie ein emblemartiges Logo entworfen hat.
Dein Lieblingsalbum im Moment: Ein Viergespann aus der neuen Emma Ruth Rundle, „On Dark Horses“, Vampillias „The Divine Move“, Typ O Negatives „October Rust“ (es ist wieder so weit) und Hammocks „Departure Songs“.
Banksy:
Ich weiß nicht wirklich, was ich von Banksy halten soll. Er macht jedoch einige coole Sachen, und sein sich selbst zerstörendes Kunstwerk war schon etwas Besonderes.
SYLVAINE in 10 Jahren: Weltherrschaft? Nur ein Scherz! (lacht) Ich weiß nicht, was die Zukunft bringt, aber ich weiß, dass ich immer noch Musik machen werde. Hoffentlich kann ich mich noch einige Zeit länger auf mein Projekt konzentrieren, aber wir werden sehen. Ich drücke die Daumen, dass die Reise so oder so aufregend wird!

Nochmals vielen Dank für Ihre Zeit. Die letzten Worte sind deine – gibt es noch etwas, das du unseren Lesern sagen willst?
Vielen Dank, dass du mir die Möglichkeit gegeben hast, mit den Lesern von Metal1.info zu sprechen – ich hoffe wirklich, dass dir mein kleiner Wortschwall hier gefallen hat. Ich hoffe außerdem, dass ich sehr bald wieder in Deutschland bin, hoffentlich im Rahmen unserer Europatourpläne im kommenden Jahr. Wir sehen uns dann!

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Dieses Interview wurde per E-Mail geführt.
Zur besseren Lesbarkeit wurden Smilies ersetzt.

Geschrieben am

Antworten

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: