Interview mit Maurizio Iacono von Kataklysm

Deutsche Version lesen

The year 2021 is coming to an end, but there’s still one anniversary to celebrate: Canadian death metal institution KATAKLYSM has turned 30! We wish a happy birthday – with 30 questions to Mauricio Iacono about three decades of Northern Hyperblast!

Hi and thanks a lot for taking time for this! 30 years, 30 questions – here we go!
1. How are you doing?

Good !

2. KATAKLYSM was founded in 1991 – 30 years ago. Congratulations on that! A sentence that sums up this incredible time span:
Unbelievable Journey!

3. Let’s go to the beginning: 1992 to 1994 you released several demos and EPs – what kind of memories do you associate with those times?
Everything was new in the extreme world. KATAKLYSM was extremely hungry and wanted to show its teeth. We decided as a band to put together a crazy band that would turn heads. There was no internet – there was stores, tape trading, paper magazines. The world was different!

4. How did you come up with the KATAKLYSM logo with the pentagram and the lightning bolts, which you still use today?
Our drummer at the time did the original design and Sylvain Houde, our singer at the time, modified it. It writes KATAKLYSM around which is pretty cool and different. The bands original name that Sylvain wanted to call the band was CATACLYSMOS, which is latin for Cataklysm .. I didn’t like the sound of it … it sounded like cosmos. So I suggested KATAKLYSM, the English version with K instead of C. It looks better … and there is a little Kreator-influence there.

5. Your EP „The Mystical Gate Of Reincarnation“ from 1993 was released on Nuclear Blast – how did you get the deal with the German label back then?
They received our demo, Markus Staiger, the owner, was blown away by it and released it as a EP immediately. We recorded “The Orb Of Uncreation” as bonus track for it. The EP was a Nuclear Blast best seller for many years.

6. Your debut album „Sorcery“ and the following „Temple of Knowledge (KATAKLYSM Part III)“ together with the EP formed a kind of trilogy, right? Quite ambitious for the beginning?
We were just trying to be ourselves and finding ourselves. Those were primitive times of the band, they have classic vibes in them and they were revolutionary records for that time. The chaos and the different elements that came together … but we weren’t experience yet, so there is innocence in it.

7. How do you explain that so many young bands – you also – want to implement complex concepts right on their first albums – and how, that most bands don’t do that later on?
Well repeating yourself forever is not a good idea, we also matured as musicians and wanted to do more memorable songs versus extreme only approach. This is the key for longevity!

8. Whose face do we see in the cover of „Temple of Knowledge“ – and why?
It’s Sylvain Houde … he thought he was the “Temple Of knowledge“ I guess. (laughs)

9. With your live album from 1998 the term „Northern Hyperblast“ was coined. Is it true that this is a Fear Factory reference?
No, Hyper for speed, Blast for power. It was a term given by fans. At that time KATAKLYSM was most likley the heaviest/chaotic band in the world!

10. And who invented the drum pattern that led to the name?
Ariel Martinez accidentally invented that blast beat, because he was using the kick as metronome to keep time on the songs. This gave Max the chance to go faster as well later on and push the limits … it was a new thing and we kept it.

11. After this album, Sylvain Houde left. What was the reason – and how did it came about that you took over the vocals?
Like in marriage things fall apart sometimes. The visions weren’t the same, Sylvain was fighting some mental illness that in the end created havoc inside the bands writing and social aspects. We broke up the band for a year and restarted it as a four piece, and since I was doing backing vocals already and made more sense for me to take over.

Kataklysm - Victims Of This Fallen World12. „Victims Of This Fallen World“ was then completely different: From the visual point of view as well as from the songwriting point of view everything seems much more modern – and it was the first album with you singing. Please describe this time, obviously there was a big change.
We were in a new phase of finding ourselves, rebuilding the band and we wanted something that would break away the band from the past and Sylvain. It was almost a Death Metal meets Melodic Hardcore type of album. Our influences were changing, but it slowly became part of the new blue print of mixing that commercial sound into the bands past agressions for future releases.

13. What kind of message did you want to send to the world with the almost punky cover and the album title?
That we are changing and we don’t give a fuck. We had nothing to lose and everything to gain.

14. It is your only studio album that was not released by Nuclear Blast. How did that happen? Why did you leave there at that time – and come back so quickly?
We had broken up as band briefly, Nuclear Blast was going through changes as well, we did not see eye to eye during the “Temple Of Knowledge” campaign. So we decided to sign with a Canadian label and keep some freedom in the way we approached business. It was a good experience to learn from and set the stage for the return to Nuclear Blast.

kataklysm - The Prophecy (Stigmata of the Immaculate)15. „The Prophecy (Stigmata Of The Immaculate)“ was the first album that starts with a film sample – the beginning of a long-lasting tradition. How did that come about back then – and how is that actually legally, is it allowed to just do that?
Samples if under a certain time limit can be used freely. With Prophecy we started to incorporate more of the old vibe and keep the groove element of “Vicims” in that album and started to change the structures to more simplistic manner and less chaotic.

16. In 2001 „Epic (The Poetry Of War)“ was released – many fans see it as the prelude to your career-defining phase. Is that true? What do you associate with this album today?
That album was the introduction of more melodic influences and the beginning of the bands new direction. “Manipulator Of Souls” was a instant hit on that album and quickly became a fan favorite.

17. Why do the fans love „Shadows & Dust“ so much – how do you explain this success?
This is the breakthrough album, which turns 20 years old next year! This album came at a time where the scene was shifting from brutal death metal to melodic death metal and we were there at the right time … everything came together perfect!

18. „Shadows & Dust“ was released in 2002 , „Serenity In Fire“ in 2004 … the speed with which you released albums at that time is enormous – one or two years at the most lay in between. How was that possible, how could you manage that creatively, but also with the recordings and tours?
This is the beginning of what we call “the Trifecta”: “Shadows & Dust”, “Serenity In Fire” and “In The Arms Of Devastation” – back to back triumphs that made KATAKLYSM explode. We were touring a lot for “Epic” and the fire and influences started to burn heavily and we went all out and decided as along as we have ideas, we will put records out and push.

19. When did you decide not to pursue „normal“ jobs anymore, but to put all your eggs in one basket and to try your luck also financially with the band?
We decided at “Epic” that if this is what we want to do full time, we have to give everything. That’s why this avalanche of records came and things started to shape up.

Kataklysm - In The Arms Of Devastation Cover20. „In The Arms Of Devastation“ was the first album you didn’t produce alone. What led to this decision – and are you satisfied with it from today’s point of view?
We don’t like to repeat ourselves and we needed someone fresh. JF was exhausted from playing 150 to 200 shows a year and producing our albums. And this was a good move: Tue Madsen brought our production higher and opened more doors – “In The Arms Of Devastation” was our biggest selling album together with “Prevail” back to back.

21. The album was also your first chart success – number 76, in Germany. How do you explain that?
In that time 76 was like top 10 now! I think we had a strong live show and we had a lyrical and musical connection with our fans: When you came to a KATAKLYSM-concert you felt energy, you felt happy and it was a cool night out with band that loved being there with you. This was important – build for us and organic. We are still the same band doing it for the same reasons: We love the stage and the fans know it.

22. It was also the birth of the „Heartbeast“ – I heard that the original artist was not so happy that the creature on „Prevail“ was drawn by someone else. Is that true?
No, we just thought the original beast was the best drawn one. But they all have their own personality, the latest one for “Unconquered” is bad ass, I think.

23. „Heaven’s Venom“ has a pretty cheesy cover. What do you think: Was that a reason for the fact that the album didn’t really hit?
I dont know about cheesy … but “Push The Venom” and “Ath The Edge Of The World” from that album are two of KATAKLYSMs biggest songs ever. And it was a success … but I agree the cover could of been better.

24. You were also touring constantly back then – did you maybe overdo it a bit, oversaturate the market, so to speak?
Maybe we did. I think sometimes people need a  break – even if you love the band. That’s important. We learn as we go.

25. With „Waiting For The End To Come“ the sales went down significantly, on „Of Ghosts And Gods“ you tried a few new things and it went up again. From today’s point of view: Did you become too complacent?
I think the change of drummer had a little of influence on that as it changed the band a little. And I think “Waiting For The End To Come” is more of an obscure album, although “If I Was God I’d Burn It All“ and “Elevate“ are big songs from that album. I don’t think it’s our best to date but it’s still important. “Of Ghosts And Gods” was a difficult period in my life with a lot of things changing things. When I went to write that album I had things to say and we came in with a strong writing plan. “The Black Sheep” is now the bands biggest hit. It resonated with the metal work immensely. The album was album of the month in Hammer, charted high and was a instant classic. And on top of it we won the JUNO award in Canada (like the grammy) for best Heavy Metal album.

26. I think „Medidations“ was a liberating blow – was it also from the band’s point of view?
“Meditiations” saw a return to more melodic writing, some modern elements incorporated in it and a different, lighter type of production that is more guitar-driven. That album did very well for us and got us some of best numbers – especially on Streaming.

27. Your current album „Unconquered“ couldn’t keep up with that, at least in terms of sales. What was the reason?
Well,  releasing an album in the middle of a pandemic is not the best move, but we felt the band was based on supporting the fans as well. Covid has been brutal and we wanted to release the album regardless. So it had some problem with stores being closed and delays in shipping, but the song “Underneath The Scars” is now the highest streaming song for the bands career, recently beating “The Black Sheep” on spotify! The band is healthy and we were modernizing things with “Unconquered”. There are very big songs on this album that once we are properly able to promote them live will explode such “The Killshot”, “Focused To Destroy You”, “The Way Back Home” and “Icarus Falling”. Remember: We are a live band, so this is how we build our catalogue.

28. The Heartbeast is back, but Olivier Beaudoin left. How did the latter come about?
We had a fall out together during the pandemic and we already had some communication issues and direction issue prior to that. So we felt it was best for both to part ways and it was done in friendly way.

29. You have only one former singer, one former guitarist … but seven former drummers. It’s almost like in „Spinal Tap“. How do you explain that?
Some have singer issues, we had drummer issues. It’s life. (laughs) We now have a fantastic drummer, James Payne, who fits perfect on stage and with his personality too.

30. 30 years are done – what is your plan for the next 20?
I don’t know – but the band will tour less, will focus more on festivals and short runs in the future. That’s the plan. You will not see KATAKLYSM touring Europe as much as before and there will be more EX DEO music before there will be more KATAKLYSM.

Thank you very much for the interview. Let’s wrap it up with our traditional brainstorming – what is the first thing that comes to your mind when you think of the following terms?
Canada: Canadian Bacon
Your favorite death metal album: Deicide – “Once Upon The Cross“
Germany: Beer
Your favorite non-metal album: Metallica – The black album (laughs)
Corona:  FUCK THAT WORD
„The best“ KATAKLYSM-album: “Of Ghosts And Gods”  and “In The Arms Of Devastation” (tied)

Anything else you want to share with our readers? The last words are yours!
Thank you! Never loose faith in who you are, especially if you are the back sheep of your environment … and protect your freedoms – this is what metal is all about!

Dieses Interview wurde per E-Mail geführt.
Zur besseren Lesbarkeit wurden Smilies ersetzt.

Geschrieben am

Antworten

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

Interview mit Maurizio Iacono von Kataklysm

Read the English version

Das Jahr 2021 neigt sich dem Ende entgegen, doch ein Jubiläum ist noch zu feiern: Die kanadische Death-Metal-Instanz KATAKLYSM ist 30 Jahre alt geworden! Zum Geburtstag alles Gute – und 30 Fragen an Sänger Mauricio Iacono zu drei Dekaden Northern Hyperblast!

Danke, dass du dir Zeit genommen hast! 30 Jahre, 30 Fragen. Los geht’s!
1. Wie geht es dir?
Sehr gut!

2. Wie würdest du diese unglaubliche Zeitspanne von 30 Jahren KATAKLYSM zusammenfassen?
Es war eine unglaubliche Reise!

Kataklysm - Vortex3. Lass uns an den Anfang gehen: 1992 bis 1994 habt ihr mehrere Demos und EPs veröffentlicht – welche Erinnerungen verbindest du mit dieser Zeit?
Alles war neu in der extremen Welt. KATAKLYSM war extrem hungrig und wollte seine Zähne zeigen. Wir beschlossen, eine verrückte Band auf die Beine zu stellen, die für Aufsehen sorgen würde. Es gab kein Internet – es gab Läden, Tonträgerhandel, Papiermagazine. Die Welt war anders!

4. Wie seid ihr auf das KATAKLYSM-Logo mit dem Pentagramm und den Blitzen gekommen, das ihr heute noch verwendet?
Unser damaliger Schlagzeuger hat das ursprüngliche Design entworfen und Sylvain Houde, unser damaliger Sänger, hat es modifiziert. Da steht ja KATAKLYSM drum herum, was ziemlich cool und einzigartig ist. Der ursprüngliche Bandname, den Sylvain für die Band vorschlug, war CATACLYSMOS, was lateinisch für Cataklysm ist … ich mochte den Klang nicht … es klang wie Cosmos. Also schlug ich KATAKLYSM vor, die englische Version, mit K statt C. Das sieht besser aus … und es schwingt ein kleiner Kreator-Einfluss mit.

Kataklysm - The Mystical Gate of Reincarnation5. Eure EP „The Mystical Gate Of Reincarnation“ von 1993 wurde auf Nuclear Blast veröffentlicht – wie kam es damals zu dem Deal mit dem deutschen Label?
Sie hatten unser Demo erhalten, und Markus Staiger, der Besitzer, war begeistert davon – er hat es sofort als EP veröffentlicht! Wir haben „The Orb Of Uncreation“ als Bonustrack dafür aufgenommen. Die EP war für viele Jahre ein Bestseller bei Nuclear Blast.

6. Euer Debütalbum „Sorcery“ und das darauf folgende „Temple Of Knowledge (Kataklysm Part III)“ bilden zusammen mit der EP eine Trilogie. Für den Anfang ist das ziemlich ambitioniert, oder?
Wir haben einfach versucht, wir selbst zu sein und uns selbst zu finden. Das waren die primitiven Zeiten der Band, sie haben klassische Vibes in sich und es waren revolutionäre Platten für diese Zeit. Das Chaos und die verschiedenen Elemente, die zusammenkamen … aber wir hatten noch keine Erfahrung, also steckt da noch Unschuld drin.

7. Wie erklärst du dir, dass so viele junge Bands – so auch ihr – gleich auf ihren ersten Alben komplexe Konzepte umsetzen wollen – und wie, dass die meisten Bands das später nicht mehr tun?
Nun, sich ewig zu wiederholen ist keine gute Idee, wir sind auch als Musiker gereift und wollten mehr einprägsame Songs machen, anstatt nur extrem zu sein. Das ist der Schlüssel für Langlebigkeit!

Kataklysm - The Temple Of Knowledge8. Wessen Gesicht sehen wir auf dem Cover von „Temple of Knowledge“ – und warum?
Es ist Sylvain Houde … er dachte wohl, er sei der „Tempel des Wissens“. (lacht)

9. Mit eurem Live-Album von 1998 wurde der Begriff „Northern Hyperblast“ geprägt. Stimmt es, dass dies eine Anspielung auf Fear Factory ist?
Nein, Hyper steht für Geschwindigkeit, Blast für Kraft. Es war ein Begriff, der von Fans geprägt wurde. Zu dieser Zeit war KATAKLYSM wahrscheinlich die härteste/chaotischste Band der Welt!

10. Und wer hat das Drum-Pattern erfunden, das zu dem Namen führte?
Ariel Martinez hat diesen Blast Beat zufällig erfunden, weil er die Kick als Metronom benutzt hat, um den Takt der Songs zu halten. Das gab Max die Möglichkeit, später auch schneller zu werden und die Grenzen auszuloten … es war eine neue Sache und wir haben sie beibehalten.

11. Nach diesem Album verließ Sylvain Houde die Band. Was war der Grund dafür – und wie kam es dazu, dass du den Gesang übernommen hast?
Wie bei einer Ehe entwickeln sich auch Bands manchmal einfach auseinander. Die Visionen waren nicht dieselben, Sylvain kämpfte mit psychischen Problemen, die letztendlich das gemeinsame Arbeiten und die sozialen Aspekte der Band ruinierten. Wir haben die Band für ein Jahr aufgelöst und als vierköpfige Gruppe neu gestartet, und da ich bereits Backing Vocals gemacht habe, ergab es für mich mehr Sinn, den Gesang zu übernehmen.

Kataklysm - Victims Of This Fallen World12. „Victims Of This Fallen World“ war dann völlig anders: Sowohl optisch als auch vom Songwriting her wirkt alles viel moderner – und es war eben auch das erste Album, auf dem du gesungen hast. Bitte beschreibe diese Zeit, offensichtlich gab es ja große Veränderungen?
Wir befanden uns in einer neuen Phase der Selbstfindung, des Wiederaufbaus der Band, und wir wollten etwas, das die Band von der Vergangenheit und Sylvain abgrenzt. Es war fast ein Album „Death Metal trifft Melodic Hardcore“-Album. Unsere Einflüsse änderten sich, aber es wurde langsam Teil des neuen Konzepts, für zukünftige Veröffentlichungen diesen kommerziellen Sound mit dem früheren, aggressiven Stil der Band zu kombinieren.

13. Was für eine Botschaft wolltet ihr der Welt mit dem fast punkigen Cover und dem Albumtitel vermitteln?
Dass wir uns verändern und dass wir uns einen Dreck um alles andere scheren. Wir hatten nichts zu verlieren und alles zu gewinnen!

14. Es ist euer einziges Studioalbum, das nicht bei Nuclear Blast erschienen ist. Wie kam es dazu? Warum seid ihr damals von dort weggegangen – und so schnell wieder zurückgekommen?
Wir hatten uns als Band wie gesagt kurzzeitig aufgelöst, Nuclear Blast machte ebenfalls Veränderungen durch, wir waren während der „Temple Of Knowledge“-Kampagne nicht einer Meinung. Also beschlossen wir, bei einem kanadischen Label zu unterschreiben und uns eine gewisse Freiheit in der Art und Weise zu bewahren, wie wir das Geschäft angehen. Es war eine gute Erfahrung, aus der wir lernen konnten und die die Voraussetzungen für die Rückkehr zu Nuclear Blast schuf.

kataklysm - The Prophecy (Stigmata of the Immaculate)15. „The Prophecy (Stigmata Of The Immaculate)“ war das erste Album, das mit einem Filmsample anfängt – der Beginn einer langjährigen Tradition. Wie kam das damals zustande – und wie ist das eigentlich rechtlich, darf man das einfach so machen?
Samples können, wenn sie unter einem bestimmten Zeitlimit liegen, frei verwendet werden. Mit „Prophecy“ haben wir angefangen, wieder mehr von dem alten Vibe einzubauen und das Groove-Element von „Vicims“ beizubehalten. Außerdem haben wir angefangen, die Songstrukturen zu vereinfachen und weniger chaotisch zu gestalten.

16. Im Jahr 2001 wurde „Epic (The Poetry Of War)“ veröffentlicht – viele Fans sehen darin den Auftakt zu eurer karrierebestimmenden Phase. Stimmt das? Was verbindest du heute mit diesem Album?
Mit diesem Album kamen mehr melodische Einflüsse hinzu und es war der Beginn der neuen Richtung der Band. „Manipulator Of Souls“ war sofort ein Hit und wurde schnell zu einem Favoriten der Fans.

17. Warum lieben die Fans das folgende „Shadows & Dust“ so sehr – wie erklärst du dir diesen Erfolg?
Das ist das Durchbruchsalbum, das nächstes Jahr 20 Jahre alt wird! Dieses Album kam zu einer Zeit, als sich die Szene vom brutalen Death Metal zum melodischen Death Metal verschob, und wir waren zur richtigen Zeit da … alles fügte sich perfekt zusammen!

18. „Shadows & Dust“ kam 2002 heraus, „Serenity In Fire“ folgte 2004 … die Geschwindigkeit, mit der ihr damals Alben veröffentlicht habt, ist enorm. Wie war das möglich, wie konntet ihr das kreativ, aber auch mit den Aufnahmen und Tourneen bewältigen?
Das Album war der Anfang von dem, was wir „die Trifecta“ nennen: „Shadows & Dust“, „Serenity In Fire“ und „In The Arms Of Devastation“ – ein Triumphzug nach dem anderen, der KATAKLYSM explodieren ließ. Wir waren viel für „Epic“ auf Tour und das Feuer und die Einflüsse begannen stark zu brennen. Wir gingen aufs Ganze und beschlossen, dass wir, so lange wir nur genug Ideen haben, Platten herausbringen und pushen werden.

19. Wann habt ihr beschlossen, nicht mehr „normalen“ Jobs nachzugehen, sondern alles auf eine Karte zu setzen und euer Glück auch finanziell mit der Band zu versuchen?
Wir haben bei „Epic“ beschlossen, dass wir alles geben müssen, wenn wir das hauptberuflich machen wollen. Deshalb kam diese Lawine von Platten und alles kam so richtig ins Rollen.

Kataklysm - In The Arms Of Devastation Cover20. „In The Arms Of Devastation“ war das erste Album, das ihr nicht alleine produziert habt. Was hat zu dieser Entscheidung geführt – und seid ihr aus heutiger Sicht damit zufrieden?
Wir wiederholen uns nicht gerne und wir brauchten jemand Neues. JF [Jean-François Dagenais, A. d. Red.] war erschöpft davon, 150 bis 200 Shows im Jahr zu spielen und dazu noch unsere Alben zu produzieren. Und das war ein guter Schritt: Tue Madsen hob unsere Produktion auf ein neues Level und öffnete uns mehr Türen – „In The Arms Of Devastation“ war zusammen mit „Prevail“ unser meistverkauftes Album … und das direkt nacheinander!

21. Das Album war auch euer erster Chart-Erfolg – Platz 76 in Deutschland. Wie erklärst du dir das?
Damals war 76 so etwas wie jetzt die Top 10! Ich denke, wir hatten eine starke Live-Show und wir hatten eine lyrische und musikalische Verbindung zu unseren Fans: Wenn du zu einem KATAKLYSM-Konzert kamst, spürtest du Energie, du fühltest dich glücklich und es war eine coole Nacht mit einer Band, die es liebte, mit dir dort zu sein. Das war wichtig – das war uns wichtig und kam ganz natürlich. Wir sind heute immer noch dieselbe Band, die das alles aus denselben Gründen tut: Wir lieben die Bühne und die Fans wissen das.

22. Das Album war auch die Geburt des „Heartbeast“. Ich habe mal gelesen, dass der Originalzeichner nicht so glücklich darüber war, dass die Kreatur auf „Prevail“ von jemand anderem gezeichnet wurde. Stimmt das?
Nein, wir fanden nur, dass das ursprüngliche Biest am besten gezeichnet war. Aber sie haben alle ihre eigene Persönlichkeit, und das letzte Exemplar für „Unconquered“ ist echt der Hammer, finde ich.

23. „Heaven’s Venom“ hat ein ziemlich kitschiges Cover. Was denkst du: War das ein Grund dafür, dass das Album nicht wirklich eingeschlagen hat?
Ich weiß nicht, ob es kitschig ist … aber „Push The Venom“ und „Ath The Edge Of The World“ von diesem Album sind zwei von KATAKLYSMs größten Songs überhaupt. Und es war ein Erfolg … aber ich stimme zu, dass das Cover besser hätte sein können.

24. Ihr wart damals auch ständig auf Tour – habt ihr es vielleicht ein bisschen übertrieben, den Markt sozusagen übersättigt?
Vielleicht haben wir das. Ich denke, manchmal brauchen die Fans auch eine Pause – selbst wenn sie die Band lieben. Das ist wichtig. Wir lernen mit jedem Schritt dazu.

25. Mit „Waiting For The End To Come“ gingen die Verkaufszahlen deutlich zurück, bei „Of Ghosts And Gods“ habt ihr ein paar neue Dinge ausprobiert und es ging wieder aufwärts. Aus heutiger Sicht: Seid ihr damals zu selbstgefällig geworden?
Ich denke, der Wechsel des Schlagzeugers hatte in gewissem Maße Einfluss darauf, da er die Band ein wenig verändert hat. Und ich denke, „Waiting For The End To Come“ ist eher ein obskures Album, obwohl „If I Was God I’d Burn It All“ und „Elevate“ starke Songs von diesem Album sind. Ich halte es nicht für unser bislang bestes, aber es ist trotzdem ein wichtiges Album. „Of Ghosts And Gods“ war eine schwierige Zeit in meinem Leben, in der sich vieles verändert hat. Als ich mich daran machte, das Album zu schreiben, hatte ich einiges zu sagen, und wir kamen mit einem starken Konzept ins Studio. „The Black Sheep“ ist mittlerweile der größte Hit der Band. Der Song fand bei den Metallern enormen Anklang. Das Album war Album des Monats im Hammer, erreichte hohe Chartplatzierungen und war sofort ein Klassiker. Und obendrein haben wir in Kanada damit den JUNO Award, vergleichbar mit dem Grammy, für das beste Heavy Metal Album gewonnen!

26. Ich empfand „Medidations“ dann als eine Art Befreiungsschlag – war es das auch aus Sicht der Band?
Mit „Meditiations“ kehrten wir zu einem melodischeren Songwriting zurück, ließen einige moderne Elemente einfließen und wählten eine andere, leichtere Art der Produktion, die mehr von den Gitarren geprägt ist. Das Album lief sehr gut für uns und brachte uns einige der besten Zahlen – besonders beim Streaming.

27. Euer aktuelles Album „Unconquered“ konnte da nicht mithalten, zumindest was die Verkaufszahlen angeht. Was war der Grund dafür?
Nun, ein Album mitten in einer Pandemie zu veröffentlichen ist nicht der beste Plan, aber wir fanden, die Band sollte auch die Fans unterstützen. Corona war brutal und wir wollten das Album unbedingt veröffentlichen. Es gab natürlich einige Probleme mit geschlossenen Läden und Verzögerungen bei der Auslieferung, aber der Song „Underneath The Scars“ ist jetzt der am meisten gestreamte Song in der Karriere der Band und hat kürzlich „The Black Sheep“ auf Spotify überholt! Die Band ist in guter Verfassung und wir haben uns mit „Unconquered“ modernisiert. Es gibt sehr große Songs auf diesem Album, die, sobald wir sie live richtig promoten können, explodieren werden – „The Killshot“, „Focused To Destroy You“, „The Way Back Home“ und „Icarus Falling“ etwa. Nicht vergessen: Wir sind eine Live-Band, also richten wir unser Material darauf aus!

28. Das Heartbeast ist zurück, dafür ist euer bisheriger Drummer Olivier Beaudoin gegangen. Wie kam es zu dieser Trennung?
Wir haben uns während der Pandemie zerstritten und hatten schon vorher einige Kommunikationsprobleme und Richtungsstreitigkeiten. Daher hielten wir es für das Beste, dass wir auf freundschaftliche Art und Weise auseinander gehen.

29. Ihr habt nur einen Ex-Sänger und einen Ex-Gitarristen … aber sieben ehemalige Schlagzeuger – das ist ja fast wie in „Spinal Tap“! Wie erklärt ihr euch das?
Manche haben Probleme auf dem Sängerposten, wir hatten Probleme auf der Position des Schlagzeugers. So ist das Leben. (lacht) Jetzt haben wir einen fantastischen Schlagzeuger, James Payne, der auf der Bühne und auch von seiner Persönlichkeit her perfekt zu uns passt.

30. Drei Dekaden KATAKLYSM sind Geschichte – was ist euer Plan für die nächsten 20 Jahre?
Ich weiß es nicht – aber die Band wird weniger unterwegs sein. Wir werden uns in Zukunft mehr auf Festivals und kleinere Touren konzentrieren. Das ist der Plan. Man wird KATAKLYSM also nicht mehr so oft in Europa touren sehen wie früher. Und es wird mehr Musik von EX DEO geben, bevor es wieder neues Material von KATAKLYSM geben wird.

Vielen Dank für das Interview. Lass uns mit unserem traditionellen Brainstorming schließen:
Kanada: Kanadischer Speck
Dein Lieblings-Death-Metal-Album: Deicide – „Once Upon The Cross“
Deutschland: Bier
Dein liebstes Nicht-Metal-Album: Das schwarze Album von Metallica (lacht)
Corona:  Dieses verdammte Wort!
Das beste KATAKLYSM-Album: „Of Ghosts And Gods“ und „In The Arms Of Devastation“, gleichauf.

Hat du noch eine abschließende Botschaft an unsere Leser?
Danke! Verliere nie den Glauben an das, was du bist – besonders wenn du das schwarze Schaf in deinem Umfeld bist. Und schütze deine Freiheiten. Darum geht es im Metal!

Dieses Interview wurde per E-Mail geführt.
Zur besseren Lesbarkeit wurden Smilies ersetzt.

Geschrieben am

Antworten

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: